When the final rankings were released Sunday, there was little drama over who would play in the College Football Playoff. The only question was how the four teams would be seeded. 

Following dominant conference championship games wins, both Michigan and Alabama were in the lead. By beating the previous No. 1 Georgia. The Wolverines handled Iowa for the Big Ten crown.

In the end, the committee went with Alabama in the No. They were 1 place off their dominating victory. That was in addition to three other narrow SEC wins that made them significant underdogs. After Houston’s defeat in the American Athletic, Cincinnati will be facing the Crimson Tide. Alabama is the only school to win all five matches between them, its last victory being in 1990. It will be held at Arlington’s Cotton Bowl. 

Never miss a moment:Sign up for our daily sport newsletter today!

No. 2 Michigan will play in the second semi-final at Orange Bowl, Miami Gardens, Florida. 2 Michigan will play No. 3 Georgia. The schools have only played twice with their last meeting in 1965.

Notre Dame was ranked fifth in the rankings and Ohio State sixth, respectively. They just missed out on making the playoff. On Sunday, all 25 remaining Top 25 teams will be announced.

Alabama is making its seventh playoff appearance. Clemson remains the leader in overall selections, with one more than Alabama. Georgia will reach the semifinals for the second time. This is also Michigan’s first trip to the semifinals. 

Alabama is present in the field. However, Clemson (Ohio State) and Oklahoma are not. The quartet has been part of every playoff since 2015. This season, only one of them made it.

NEW HIRE:Oklahoma targets Brent Venables to be its next head coach

FOUNDING MOTORIVATION Nick Saban thanks the media for “yummy” rat poison

REPORT CARD  Brian Kelly’s daughter, pylon cam take a bow; SEC fans fail

Both of the semifinals will take place on Dec. 31. On Jan. 10, Indianapolis will host the College Football Playoff championship match.

Later Sunday, the rest of New Year’s Six bowls will be announced. In the Rose Bowl, Ohio State and Utah will be playing. Baylor has been confirmed for the Sugar Bowl, with Mississippi its probable opponent.

Erick Smith is a college reporter. Follow him on Twitter @ericksmith

Source: USAToday.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here